The love of a Mother and Child

February 23, 2007

(Disclaimer: I’m not editing so ignore typos etc.)

My mom is sad today. When I’m feeling particularly down and needy I still refer to her as Mommy and she still responds. My dad just rolls his eyes and reminds me that I’m in my twenties now and no longer an infant. I don’t necessarily agree, I’ll always be a ‘baby’ in my moms eyes, so sometimes I say ‘why not act like one!’ Sometimes it doesn’t get me very far. Anyway, that is all besides the point, she’s sad today because her children are so far away. I’m way in California and my brother just left his RandR to go back to Iraq. (She’s more upset about my brother at the moment). I guess I can understand. I’m not a mom but my brother and I are very close and it has been awhile since anyone in the family has seen him. (He up and decided to marry a German girl). All of this is besides the point…

What I really want to say is that I’ve been pondering what this wise woman told me a few weeks ago (my grandmother). She told me that Parents love their children more than their children love them. (She was saying how my mom never goes and sees her). I guess it’s just hard for me to understand because I don’t have children yet. I would hope that my children love me as much as I love them and I certainly cannot imagine loving my mom less than she loves me.

Now don’t get me wrong, I understand the difference in the relationships. As a child, I depend on my parents for their support and guidance (I’ll go ahead and throw wallet into the mix as well). They don’t need me so much for that (although I am wise beyond my years and enjoy thoroughly telling my parents how to do things).

I guess I think on this point a lot because lately I’ve needed my Mom a lot. I can’t honestly say that I’m one of those girls who had a rough relationship with her Mom growing up but we’ve had our moments, she’s a feisty bulldog (as my dad has referred to her) and I was your typical teenage girl. As I’ve gotten older, and on my own, I feel more appreciative of the lessons that my parents taught me and the support they’ve given me. I am very grateful for that fact that while I’m struggling, fighting my own demons, and in need of support and guidance, that she is always right there to give me a shoulder to lean on.

Mother and childA WONDERFUL MOTHER.

GOD made a wonderful mother,
A mother who never grows old;
He made her smile of the sunshine,
And He molded her heart of pure gold;
In her eyes He placed bright shining stars,
In her cheeks, fair roses you see;
God made a wonderful mother,
And He gave that dear mother to me.

~Pat O’Reilly~

2 Responses to “The love of a Mother and Child”

  1. Joan Says:

    Beautiful, Amanda!

  2. Ruth Shaw Says:

    Thanks for a beautifully written post about a beautiful subject by a beautiful girl. Amanda you are beautiful both inside and outside and so is your mother.

    Amanda…You also have a bunch of aunts and uncles who are crazy about you.

Leave a Reply

